About us


The Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association was born through the Alexander Brown Hall Development Committee inauguration meeting on Saturday 24th April 1999.

On that day the ABH Board set up two sub-committees; one of which to work towards the establishment of the Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association. Subsequent activities of the said sub-committee was under the Chairmanship of Dr. B.G.K. Ajayi.

Later, by Saturday 9th October, 1999, the Ibadan College of Medicine, Alumni Association (ICOMAA) was inaugurated and a total of fifty-one thousand, three hundred and ten Naira (N51,310), derived mainly from donations from Alumni, was passed on to the ICOMAA from the Alumni sub-committee.

Executive members at Inception

The Executive members at inception are:

Prof. O. O. Akinkugbe                           –       President

Prof. M. Temitayo Shokunbi                 –       Provost

Dr. Femi Rabiu                                     –       1st Vice President

Dr. Modupe Onadeko                            –       2nd Vice President

Dr. A. E. Obiechina                               –       Secretary-General

Mrs Oluyemisi Adegbolagun                 –       Ass. Secretary-General

Dr. Arinola Sanya                                 –       Financial Secretary

Dr. Adenike Onibokun                           –       Publicity Secretary

Dr. Georgina Odaibo                             –       Treasurer

Departmental Representative members at inception.

The following members served as departmental representative at the inception

Dr. B. O. A. Adegoke                            –       Physiotherapy

Dr. Oyedunni Osowole                          –       Health Education

Mrs. A. A. Akintola                               –       Nursing

Dr. O. O. Dosunmu                                –       Dentistry

Dr. Olusola T. Oluwanuga                      –       Physiology

Dr. B. G. K. Ajayi                                  –       Ophthalmology

Mr. A. O. Adetule                                 –       Administration

Prof. Adeyinka Falusi                            –       IMRAT

The pioneer President of the great alumni association was Emeritus Prof. O.O. Akinkugbe (1999-2003), followed by Emeritus Prof. E.Oluwole Akande (2003-2007), Dr. B.G.K. Ajayi (2007-2011), Prof. Wuraola A. Shokunbi (2011-2015) and Dr. Abib Olamitoye (2015-2019)

The Current ICOMAA Executives

Prof. Fatai Adeniyi                      President Worldwide   

Dr. Fidelis Adams-Momoh            Vice President 1

 Dr. Taiwo Soyinka                       Vice President 2,  

Dr. Timothy Oluwasola                 Secretary-General

Dr. Muyiwa Ajanaku                     Assistant Secretary-General

Dr. Adenike Adeniji-Sofoluwe     Treasurer

Dr. Lucia Ojewale                        Financial Secretary

Dr. Abayomi Ige                          Publicity Secretary

Dr. Abib Olamitoye                      Ex- Officio 1

Prof. Olayinka Omigbodun           Ex- Officio 2

ICOMAA Alumni Groups Sets and individuals both nationally and internationally have contributed towards the development of the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan and the University College Hospital (UCH).

ICOMAA Branches and Chapters




ICOMAA – Obafemi Awolowo Chapter



The Ibadan Medical Specialist Group (IMSG – a sub-group made up of Ibadan-trained Medical Specialist). There are fifty-one (51) functional ICOMAA WhatsApp Groups.

Scroll to Top